Review: Yes to carrots — moisturizing and eco-friendly

When it comes to eco-friendly products, the selection runs the gamut, both in price and in quality. Over the past weeks, I have experimented with various cosmetics in an attempt to weigh the pros and cons of going green at home.

One of the brands I tried is called Yes to [visit website], a line of cosmetics made from 95% organic ingredients and sold at various retail locations such as Walmart, Walgreens and CVS stores.

Of the sundry products produced by Yes to, I tried the Yes to Carrots daily moisture body lotion and the lip tint in Sunset Pink. Though I did spend $4.47 for the lip tint and $8.97 for the body lotion (without tax), I was pleased with both products.

The body lotion, with key ingredients like sweet potato root extract and carrot seed oil, left my skin soft without feeling greasy like so many other products. The company’s website says that it’s body lotion is paraben, SLS (sodium dodecyl sulfate) and petroleum free, making the products quite unique when pitted against other cosmetics on the market. The scent is not overpowering, but reminds me of the Coppertone suntan lotion my mom used at the neighborhood pool when I was a kid. Whether that is a good memory for others is a matter of personal preference, but I love it.

The Yes to lip tint was nice, too; though it did not last as long as some other lip balm brands like Chapstick or Carmex, but the color was just what I was looking for. Included in the company’s lip care products are other natural ingredients like coconut, jajoba and sunflower oil, shea butter and vitamin E, and notably missing paraben and carmine.

All in all, I was very pleased with my purchases, and loved the ingredient listings for what was included just as much as for what was left out. Sadly, I do not think this brand will make regular appearances in my grocery cart, purely because of the cost. Instead, this college girl will probably sayYes to carrots on the occasional guilt-free splurge.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I use the melon-flavored Yes to lip butter, and I love it! A great flavor that, like you said, doesn’t overpower, and it works great. I have to intersperse the purchases with cheaper brands though, since I’m prone to losing them. Nice review.

Leave a comment