Get a job with urban agriculture!

Great news for job-seeking food lovers! The Columbia Center for Urban Agriculture is currently accepting applications for three AmeriCorps VISTA volunteer positions in 2012.  Two of CCUA’s partners also have a VISTA position available, making the total five.  Below are links to the AmeriCorps VISTA website which has more information.

The CCUA is looking for hard working people with sustainable agriculture, hands-on education and marketing experience.  If you or anyone you know might be interested please encourage them to apply.  Feel free to contact Adam Saunders (Adam@ColumbiaUrbanAg.org or 573-356-9392) with questions.  Applicants need to apply on-line.  The deadline is Monday, December 19th

Want to know what working for CCUA is like? Here’s a first-hand account from some past interns!

Caitlin Swatek

21 years old, Senior Biology major, with a Certificate in Environmental Studies

Experience with CCUA: I was a production intern and volunteer coordinator from the beginning of September through October 2011.
What you learned from CCUA: I learned about the complexity of farming, and as a result gained a greater appreciation for farmers.
Favorite garden tool: Gardening gloves. They really reduce the amount of cuts you get. And having cuts on your hands don’t heal fast, especially when you are constantly using them to garden more.
“Killing chickens is something I never participated in. Not by choice, I was simply busy when CCUA offered workshops. I’d like to learn how to properly do it, but I prefer to make killing chickens a rare occasion.”
Someday: “When I get my own garden, I’m going to plant tomatoes and marigolds together. Is it my favorite example of companion planting and I love the aromas. And nothing beats fresh from the vine tomatoes! Yum!”

Emma Brown

Senior Nutrition and Fitness major

Experience with CCUA: I was a Sales and Marketing Intern with CCUA at the beginning of Fall ’11 semester. I mostly helped run the market stand at the Farmers’ and Artisans’ Market at the Wabash Bus Station on Sundays. I also did some harvesting and I worked at the farm stand selling produce as well.
What you learned from CCUA: I learned that farm work is never-ending! You are either planting, tending, harvesting or selling your produce. Farm work is hard, but very rewarding. Working the land is something that takes skill and knowledge and it is something very valuable to humanity.
Favorite garden tool: The stirrup hoe.
Finish this sentence: “Killing chickens is a process that people who eat chicken should understand.”
In the future: “When I get my own garden, I’m going to plant swiss chard, tomatoes, broccoli and tons of herbs! ”

Kevin Petersen

Senior Science and Agricultural Journalism major

Experience with CCUA: Production intern from July to November 2011
What you learned from CCUA: The main thing I learned is to appreciate the people who grow my food and how much work it takes.
Favorite garden tool: Potato fork
Finish this sentence: “Killing chickens is . . . ” …necessary to eating chickens but not as fun as raising chickens.
When I get my own garden: “I’m going to plant pattypan squash and asparagus.”

Li Tang

Senior Strategic Communication major

Experience with CCUA: Marketing intern, January-December 2011
What you learned from CCUA: How much volunteers can contribute to an organization
Favorite garden tool: Hands
Finish this sentence: “Killing chickens is . . . “


“When I get my own garden, I’m going to plant . . . “

Samuel Ott

Senior Marketing major

Experience with CCUA:  I had an internship with the CCUA during the fall of 2010. I was a Marketing Apprentice that helped find donors and sponsors for the Harvest Hootenanny.
What you learned from CCUA:  I learned about soil composition and the plant/soil relationship. I learned how to process a chicken. I learned more about the internal processing of nonprofits. I also learned how to upkeep a garden properly.
Favorite garden tool:  Wheelbarrow
Finish this sentence: “Killing chickens is . . . awkward.
“When I get my own garden, I’m going to plant . . . potatoes, carrots, corn and spinach

Leave a Reply

